Saturday Stuff: Facing The Holiday Clutter

Saturday Stuff: Facing The Holiday Clutter

ok, it’s time

I love the concept of these boxes but not once have my ornaments fit beautifully in them. It’s always a mess of mis-matched, mis-sized pieces :)!

How many of you are already cleaned up?

I am not – as you can probably tell by our banner photo

These 18 Gallon Sterilite Tubs are what I really use. I made (custom:) dividers for several different types of ornaments & layer them like a cake. Each is beautifully labeled (not:) with duct tape & a description. I chose them because they fit into the closets in the Cabin perfectly when stacked. I went through about 5 different prototypes before getting a system down that worked.

Have actually been avoiding it nicely – all snug with the tree & still trimmings up, back in the snow at Lake Tahoe

I see it though: the ribbon needs to come down, the garlands are seriously dropping glitter, the snowmen are looking tired and I know I must face reality

Cleaning up glitter off hand scraped hardwood is such a joy ;)!…play dough? I’ve tried it all. So I just put the music on and get to work….

So I have been boxing, clearing, cleaning & decluttering slowly

😦

I have also been challenged these past few days to really think about what we can realistically achieve and what we can hope to begin in 2013 at Couture Chateau

It’s kind of the same process

What will I box?

What is “good” that Couture Chateau should put away for a season to focus on the GREAT?

From Jim Collins, Author of Good to Great

What will I clear?

The calendar? Are we over scheduled but under performing anywhere?

What will I clean?

Is there a mess we need to tackle besides my desk? Oh yes friends, I am a very messy desk person. I should probably take a class for that…

As a member of NAPO (National Association of Professional Organizers) I am great at organizing others, I just have this one area (my desk) which never seems to be cleaned. The conference table? Perfection. The rest of the space? Lovely. My desk? A grouping includes: hand weights, coffee cup & papers…:)

What will I declutter?

This? The HARDEST part for me because I know it’s the Studio Library. We will tackle this as a team. With music & good coffee, three shredders at the ready…

 So I hope you now know, we are in this together…

Saturday Stuff: Cleaning it all up!

I once was told: “Ann you need to be a high achiever, not a perfectionist. There is a huge difference.” That lesson took me years to understand. I can now say – the high achiever is comfortable with my duct tape labeled ornament tubs….my former perfectionist self would never have been….I have peace…

 What is your Saturday Stuff?

“Live a custom life. There is only one you.”™

xo Ann

3 thoughts on “Saturday Stuff: Facing The Holiday Clutter

  1. Our beautiful tree is “still going strong”…taking easily half a gallon of water every other day since the first of Dec. I’ve changed the fresh flowers on it several times, though. 🙂 One can’t go wrong with hemlock greens on the mantel….they are the energizer bunny of coniferous . I’ll think about it tomorrow…. franki

Leave a Reply

