Thursday Spotlight: Designing A Custom Life That Works For Us

 Thursday Spotlight: Designing A Custom Life That Works For Us 

I have always had a passion for creating custom spaces + places that move people forward in their journey

It’s this weird thing when you “see” someone and immediately think…

“They need a Blue Bedroom”

A Blue Room from House Beautiful, September 2012, Ashley Whittaker

“They need a private library space”

I love this Library. Some people are fed by the private, some are fed by the public…finding out who we are so we can live as we should is a life long process…but we have to start somewhere…this photo is from a home in Charleston. Image Linked.

“An open concept kitchen isn’t really where they need to start…they should start by getting their formal entertaining spaces done…”

“I know they want a new kitchen, but they need to get their private spaces in order first”

I guess in the end, it’s why I do what I do

Why I am so passionate about this whole thing

When we make our Custom Pillows, we take care to address every detail. Just like you, every detail counts.

When we make our Custom Pillows, we take care to address every detail. Just like you, every detail counts. This Couture Chateau Custom is made from Antique Textiles, Interlined, Lined, Has Custom Down Fill, Covered Button Closure…and more…

Truth is we all need something slightly different in our designed spaces + custom lives

And that’s Beautiful

It’s a beautiful place to really see someone and help them create a space that makes them come alive

But lots of things can get in the way

Have you ever felt like something was holding you back from really getting the LIFE you were living in right?

Money?  Tradition?

Time?  Fear?

Effort?  Access?

All of those things CAN matter, but they aren’t really barriers in the end

Not if you are really conscious of living YOUR life

Truth is, I think the thing that keeps us from living in our Custom Lives

is the hard work of unapologetic self honesty

Self Honesty

We really have to know WHO we are and WHAT we are about in order to create an intentional life

Yes, a process to be sure

But the process has to start somewhere

Of COURSE it changes over time….

One of my favorite books…It’s not easy being a bunny…or a bear or a pig or a skunk…the point is we all have custom ways of living!

Honesty

It’s that moment when you go to the doctor & step on the scale

Argh

Honesty

It’s that moment when your spouse or best friend looks at you and sees something in you that you’ve been trying to hide

maybe a hurt, maybe a fear

but they SEE

and we are vulnerable

Honesty

What if I am rejected if I am self honest in my living?

Such a marvelous tale…resonates with all.

What if?

What if I design my life as I think my soul is telling me and someone goes “ewwww”?

What if?

What if I choose the red sofa I really love – I mean absolutely love – and someone says “gag”?

What if?

What if I put up that inexpensive wall paper that I think in my heart is really cool – but it doesn’t have a label and my neighbor who has “great taste” comes over and says “icck”

What if?

You are still YOU

And YOU have something intrinsically beautiful + unique to bring to this thing called life

And that neighbor, friend…person…isn’t called to live YOUR life! YOU are

So forget that thing that holds you back

If you don’t bring YOU, remember, someone somewhere is missing something…

And so as 2013 unfolds for each of us – take a minute or several and really ponder IF there is anything holding you back from really living. Maybe nothing, maybe you are LIVING. Sweet. THAT warms my soul.

Let’s make 2013 a year we REALLY live as our custom selves

“Live a custom life. There is only one you.”™

xo Ann

8 thoughts on “Thursday Spotlight: Designing A Custom Life That Works For Us

Leave a Reply

