Stewardship Sunday: Day of Mental Rest, What’s Your “Garland”?

Stewardship Sunday: Day of Mental Rest, What’s Your “Garland”?

Designing and Living a Custom Life is a process

The spaces & places we inhabit contribute a great deal to who we are, who we want to be and how we develop

My Grandmother's First Book...inscribed in her cursive "First Book, Christmas 1916" it sits in my Living Room during this time of year near a Child Friendly Petit Bench so little ones feel welcome

Inscribed in Grandmother’s cursive “First Book, Christmas 1916” this Annual rests near an Antique Petit Bench. It reminds me life is process & doesn’t have to be perfect. Confession? I like it perfect…especially during the Holiday Season but daily let it go…

December = everything & every design on display

It can be hard to “be the real you” when there are a billion “decorating demands” surrounding family traditions, community expectations & our own self imposed Martha Moments

There is no mental time to figure out what we really want for our Custom Life!

Do I even want a Holiday Rug at my front door?

Holiday Rug at Front Door? Not really my gig...but I have friends who love them. Each year I think...oh, I need one...but really? I don't. Doesn't go with my house, my design or my real life...

Holiday Rug at Front Door? For some reason each year I think…oh, I should have one made. If I don’t take time to mentally rest, I can’t make a clear headed design decision!

Am I sure I need my custom snowflakes hanging from every beam in my house?

The snowflake plastic prototypes on the fence's garland......if I use them on the entire fence I will need over 100...is that practical? No...not this season...

The snowflake prototypes on the fence’s garland……if I use them on the entire fence I will need over 100…practical? Without mental rest, I can’t decide…

We attempt to get our homes in order and keep them in order in case a friend (or even UPS) stops by. God forbid we don’t have the wreath up & the bows all tied…

Mental Rest. Need it. Crave it.

My Example: garland

Hanging the rest of it. Yup. Clogs, muddy from the rain, but cute beanie & scarf trudging…

Plaid Banana Republic Scarf - why does it matter what we wear when we decorate?? It just does!!

Plaid Banana Republic Scarf – why does it matter what we wear when we decorate?? It just does!!

Something about the process works for me.

Enough effort = accomplishment

Not so much that I start flipping out over some other Custom Design Element that should be added

Today, what’s your “garland”?

Make sure it’s something that will move you one step closer to living out the next 30 days in peace.

Sunday Stewardship = You

Your creative self will be thrilled to have some actual thinking time

A clear brain = YOU decide if you want a Holiday Rug

Because it’s YOUR home & YOUR life

🙂

“Live a custom life. There is only one you.”™

xo Ann

One thought on “Stewardship Sunday: Day of Mental Rest, What’s Your “Garland”?

  1. Argh…I know there is a “lesson” there…for “some reason” I work better under pressure guess that’s when my “creative juices” kick in. I am making a list though… franki

Leave a Reply

